Thursday, November 28, 2019

Clay Bodies

What are the different types of clay bodies?

Earthenware - is a low-fire clay body. Low-fire clays are fired between cones 06-04. Low-fire white and terra-cotta clays are examples of low fire clay bodies. Earthenware clay bodies remain porous after firing.
Stoneware - is a mid to high fire clay body. Mid-fire clays are fired between cones 5-7. High-fired stoneware is fired between cones 8-11. Stoneware clays are refractory, with means they can withstand high temperatures. Stoneware clays are fired to vitrification which means they are not porous after firing and will not absorb water in use. Stoneware clay bodies are used for dinnerwares and pottery. 
Porcelain - is a white high fire clay body. Porcelain is a primary clay that was first discovered in China, it is valued for its brightness and if fired high enough it can become translucent.
Air Dry Clay - is a clay body that is soft and moldable. It contains a drying agent and air drys to a hard state.  It requires no baking or firing in a kiln. It remains porous but can be painted.
Plasticine - is an oil based clay body. The oil prevents the clay from drying out. It is reusable and will not fully harden.

Play Doughs - are soft and pliable. They are made from various ingredients intended for sensory play.

Grog - is crushed unglazed pottery or brick used as an additive to add strength to clay.

Written by: Art Teacher Ruth Post

No comments:

Post a Comment